Nusilme Forum Index
  ChatChat  ChatPreets Blog  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister ProfileProfile  Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 

MMORPG Research

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Aeriola

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:51 am    Post subject: MMORPG Research Reply with quote

Hi guys, hope everyone is doing well. Really missed you lot Smile. Hope none of you forget me Smile. Anyhooo, I'm currently doing my thesis this year, totally hate it and was hoping you could answer a few questions. The topic is "Botting" in MMORPG's.Your support would be highley appreciated.

Just a little info on what a botting is: Botting, is the practice of using third party programs known as bots, to enable the automation of various gameplay tasks. (example automated farming, bot will farm resources for you)

Could you please answer the questions in the presented order, numbering each of your response.

1. In MMORPGs, what do you deem as cheating, and why?

2. MMORPG’s are intended to be a contest of skill and strategy based on player interaction, what are your thoughts on other players “botting”? Why do you think so?

3. How do you feel “Botting” contributes to your game-play experience? Why do you think so?

4. Why do you suspect other players make use of “bots”?

5. Why do you think “Botting” should be categorized as cheating?

6. Numerous MMORPG’s distributors implemented various anti-cheating tools to disallow the use “Bots” (Blizzard’s warden), what do you suppose triggered Blizzards or any other MMORPG response to implement these tools?

7. Do you think the implemented anti-cheating tools have been effective? Why or why not?

8. How have you responded to other players “Botting”? Why?

9) How has “Botting” affected you and you relationship with other players?

10) How has other players "Botting" your relationship with your MMORPG distributor?

Again your support is highly appreciated